Shame on you Russia….

July 19, 2014 at 10:51 am 5 comments

20140719-105052-39052160.jpg

In an earlier post I compared Vladimir Putin’s de facto annexation of the Crimea to Hitler’s absorption of the Sudetenland as a prelude to the Second World War.

Now I find myself bound to compare Russia’s undoubted provision and training of Ukrainian separatists in the use of surface-to-air missiles with the sinking of the cruise ship Lusitania in 1915.

Shame on you Putin!

Many historians and political commentators have compared the current situation with that immediately prior to the Great War one hundred years ago, prompted by the assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand. Indeed, the sinking of RMS Lusitania – an innocent commercial ocean liner, much like the Malaysian airline flight MH17 – was in large part responsible for the entry of the United States of America into the First World War.

Unfortunately, and hopefully, the cowardly, mistaken, long-range shooting down and killing of 298 innocent souls on board a tourist flight from Amsterdam to Kuala Lumpur and beyond by Russian-backed separatists will not trigger the downfall of President Putin or the commencement of military intervention by the USA and the West.

In times gone by it might have. But, the lack of an effective NATO deterrent and the non-existence of a viable conventional and nuclear military or political response to counter the threat of Russian aggression and military might means that it is unlikely that Western forces will mobilise against the Russian leader who seems intent on reforming the Soviet Union. If ever there was a just cause….

I think this is a damning indictment on the failure of the USA, the UK, and the West to stand strong against the aggression of failed dictators. But, above all, it is a damning indictment of Vladimir Putin and Russian politics which remains focused on a Western and ideological threat which no longer exists.

Shame on you Putin.

RIP the innocent souls of MH17.

RIP former Shell colleagues.

 

Entry filed under: middleman. Tags: , , , , .

Stressful Times… The Great British Summer

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dannyllama  |  July 19, 2014 at 8:32 pm

    It’s strange, because I categorize MH17 and 9/11 as the same. A shameless attempt to destabilize politics using the death of innocents. Mostly I scoff at conspiracy theories. Generally they are so thin that holes can be punched through them by breathing. However in this case, it’s fairly solid.

    Who’s shoulders will be big enough to receive the blame for this despicable act? I guarantee that there will be many fingers pointed from both sides. The realism is that both sides have huge political advantage in blaming the other. Will we ever know who did it, unlikely at best. Given that both the Ukrainian’s and the Separatist’s use the same military hardware, the search comes down to the ‘Trigger Man’.

    My gut feeling is that in approximately four weeks, we will see some disheveled souls in front of a camera claiming responsibility. My guess is 2 to 3. They will give repentance, and then be executed. However this will be a sham. A token gesture to quiet the Western Media if you will.

    With huge issues in the Middle East, Israel & Gaza and the Al Qaeda insurgent take over of Iraq, the world has become a much more dangerous place within a month. However mark my words, the next cold war is just around the corner. I sincerely hope that this is not the catalyst.

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. Middle Man  |  July 20, 2014 at 9:44 am

      Thank you Dannyllama for your considered and thoughtful response. I have received comments from friends from Eastern Europe who take a very different view and counsel me to wait until the evidence is shown. They take the view that Putin is defending ethnic Russians who are being “cleansed” by the Ukraine. I think they are wrong. With black boxes and other evidence already spirited away I fear that your scenario – presumably lone wolves not acting under orders – is indeed likely.

      Like

      Reply
  • 3. Victoria Nankinova  |  August 9, 2014 at 6:33 pm

    http://rt.com/op-edge/177388-mh17-cia-false-ukraine/

    Like

    Reply
    • 4. Middle Man  |  August 10, 2014 at 4:17 pm

      Thanks Victoria. I love a good conspiracy theory as much as the next guy. And if I am proved to be wrong here I will make a very humble public apology. But, in the meantime, I will stick with the seasoned logic of James Whitcomb Riley – when I see a bird that walks like a duck, swims like a duck and quacks like a duck, I call that bird a duck….

      Like

      Reply
  • 5. Victoria Nankinova  |  August 10, 2014 at 6:26 pm

    I respectfully agree with your logic, David, but as a person who was born in Ukraine and spent every summer there until the age of 21, I claim to have a better knowledge of the Ukrainian ducks than you (no offence!) and I do know one when I see one 🙂 No public apology necessary, it’s just that you’ve grown up in a world where Russia has been deliberately demonised by the US for decades and I believe that you wouldn’t see the truth even if it hit you in the face (again no offence!). With all due respect, I can only hope that the British never experience what it means to be deliberately demonised in the eyes of the rest of the world as a part of the US’s (or someone else’s) broader agenda (trust me, it’s quite a stressful and futile experience, quite a waste of time and energy…)
    … On a personal note, please never call a Russian “Hitler” again (at least not in my presence – one of my grandfathers was in the concentration camp of Dachau during WW2 and the other one spent 900 days in the swamps around Leningrad defending the city during the WW2 blockade … and that’s only me! Please show some respect to all your formerly USSR colleagues and friends and the hundreds of millions of Russian victims of WW2)
    … I will say no more. I remain with all my due respect to you.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Follow me on Twitter

My Tweets

Enter your email address to receive new posts.

Join 235 other followers

Blogs I Follow

Blog Stats

  • 686,328 hits

Flag Counter

Social


Travels 2016

Lesley Jennings

In and Around Shere

A beautiful area in the heart of the Surrey Hills

Talking in circles

Graduate, dog-lover and cake aficionado. Really.

21c Scotland

Scottish Blue Badge Guide

Libatio

These are the sometimes irreverent ramblings and observations of an English middle-aged man and middle manager.....

Public Value for Money

These are the sometimes irreverent ramblings and observations of an English middle-aged man and middle manager.....

Fit and Fabulous at 40 Plus

Rediscover yourself - food, inspiration & training programmes

Akinsankofa's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

expatnewby

My own, honest (ish) thoughts and fears of expat life.

