Jet Lag…….

December 3, 2013 at 6:37 am 1 comment

jet leg

Oh the joys of jet lag.

I arrived in Australia at 10.30pm on Saturday evening after a mere 24 hours of travelling, several in-flight movies, very little sleep, an eleven hour shift in time zone, a twenty degree shift in temperature, a two month stint away from home, and a new and daunting role at work.

And, for the last three nights I have gone out like a light and have slept like a baby – albeit a rather too portly, ageing, and grey-haired baby.

I have slept like a baby for four straight hours. Each night. And, thereafter I have been wide awake and unable to sleep, with my brain working overtime, constantly reminding me of things I still have to do and work still to be completed.

Try as I may, I have been unable to get back to sleep, except for the last ten minutes or so before the alarm rang out and dragged me kicking and screaming from those ten minutes of deep, deep sleep, leaving me groggy, grumpy and relishing a day of detail and monotony….not.

Fortunately I have survived the work sessions….so far. But, I haven’t been at my best in the evenings. Fortunately my inability to party has heavily curtailed my evening consumption of alcohol – I haven’t had the need to return to the bottle shop since Sunday.

But, last night was a new low. After an early dinner and just a couple of beers with a colleague I returned to my apartment to try to catch up with the mounting workload that people on the other side of the planet keep throwing my way……only to awake abruptly at 10.30pm having fallen asleep at my desk!

I immediately took myself to bed, went out like a light and slept like a baby…..for four hours.

Oh, the joys of jet lag.

Entry filed under: middleman. Tags: , , , .

Two Months Down Under Pommie Bashing

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Patricia Pover  |  December 5, 2013 at 6:10 pm

    You are missing the gales and heavy rain not to mention the power cuts in Bradwall xxxxx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Follow me on Twitter

My Tweets

Enter your email address to receive new posts.

Join 235 other followers

Blogs I Follow

Blog Stats

  • 686,328 hits

Flag Counter

Social


Travels 2016

Lesley Jennings

In and Around Shere

A beautiful area in the heart of the Surrey Hills

Talking in circles

Graduate, dog-lover and cake aficionado. Really.

21c Scotland

Scottish Blue Badge Guide

Libatio

These are the sometimes irreverent ramblings and observations of an English middle-aged man and middle manager.....

Public Value for Money

These are the sometimes irreverent ramblings and observations of an English middle-aged man and middle manager.....

Fit and Fabulous at 40 Plus

Rediscover yourself - food, inspiration & training programmes

Akinsankofa's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

expatnewby

My own, honest (ish) thoughts and fears of expat life.

