In Need of Comfort

August 7, 2013 at 12:13 pm Leave a comment

comfortWhy oh why oh why don’t hotels offer comfort food?

When I am away from home and travelling on business, which seems to be about half of my life these days, all I ask is for a clean, comfortable and quiet room with fully functioning air-conditioning, and to be left alone…….and maybe a mini-bar ( 😉 ).

And, when it comes to food and eating, I do not want to be Billy No Mates on his own in the hotel or any nearby restaurant, trying to look engrossed in my iPad or a hardly thumbed paperback. If nothing else the constant stream of unwelcome and unsolicited attention from predatory females is enough to put you off your food….. 🙂

But one can not survive more than a night or two on the slim pickings of the mini-bar menu. An evening meal consisting of a bag of Nobby’s Nuts, Pringles and a miniature Toblerone for dessert just does not do it for me after a hard day at the office. This hardly gets close to your five a day and is likely to have Jamie Oliver beating down your door to take you into care.Toblerone

And, the usual room-service fare is so repetitive and unimaginative. I do not get excited by the ubiquitous options of soup of the day, a classic caesar salad, posh burgers, posh pizzas, and a selection of British cheeses with the odd grape and a stale cracker or two.

In truth, I can always manage a steak no matter how tired or stressed I may be – I tend to lose my appetite when anxious – but the quality of cooking and the meat itself is often a disappointment. And you cannot eat a steak on consecutive nights. I am not American after all.

All I ever really want when I am away from home is to curl up on a (king-size) bed with a good movie or something decent on the TV, and some comfort food. And, I am sure that I am not alone in this. So why oh why do hotels not serve cheap, quick, homely comfort food? There are nights when I would kill (not literally) for a bowl of macaroni cheese, or baked beans or maybe a slice of cheese on toast. I would even tolerate Welsh Rarebit if they insisted on poshing it up a bit.

And now I am feeling really hungry…….

 

Entry filed under: middleman. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Maslow Is Feeling Needy Cruel To Be Kind!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Patricia Pover on The real Game of Thrones…
Middle Man on M6 – The Haunted Mo…
Anonymous on M6 – The Haunted Mo…
Patricia Pover on Wine gums, please…..
Patricia Pover on Home sweet home….

Archives

Follow me on Twitter

My Tweets

Enter your email address to receive new posts.

Join 234 other followers

Blogs I Follow

Blog Stats

  • 689,646 hits

Flag Counter

Social


Travels 2016

Lesley Jennings

In and Around Shere

A beautiful area in the heart of the Surrey Hills

Talking in circles

Graduate, dog-lover and cake aficionado. Really.

21c Scotland

Scottish Blue Badge Guide

Libatio

These are the sometimes irreverent ramblings and observations of an English middle-aged man and middle manager.....

Public Value for Money

These are the sometimes irreverent ramblings and observations of an English middle-aged man and middle manager.....

Fit and Fabulous at 40 Plus

Rediscover yourself - food, inspiration & training programmes

Akinsankofa's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

expatnewby

My own, honest (ish) thoughts and fears of expat life.

