Living in the Dark

July 29, 2013 at 3:56 pm 1 comment

electricityThe power is out. We have no electricity. And, as a consequence, we have no ability to cook, to boil a kettle, or to watch the news.

We have no wi-fi and no internet. My laptop is dead. My iPad is dead and my iPhone is dying. I am not at my productive best at the moment.

Apparently, the electricity company hand-delivered a notice of the planned outage quite some time back. They hand-delivered it to my better half, C. My better half forgot to mention it to me……otherwise, I would have gone to the office today rather than working from home. I would have gone to somewhere with electricity.

Time moves slowly in a world without electricity. At least it does if you are fortunate enough to have a battery-powered clock. If you have an electric clock then it doesn’t move at all.

It is quiet in a world without electricity. All I can hear is next door’s dog barking and our cat snoring underneath the sofa. No TV. No radio.

The world is gloomy in a world without electricity. Fortunately it is the middle of the day andtealight quite sunny outside. And, thankfully it is about twenty degrees. Otherwise, I would have to resort to huddling around a tealight for both heat and illumination. Alternatively I would have to try to generate enough static electricity through vigorous stroking of the cat to generate a spark with which to light a fire. Thankfully I do not think it will come to that – the last thing you want is to be stalked by an angry pussy cat in the gloom of a world without electricity.

I am already beginning to feel and think like an American backwoodsman. A survivalist. I have trees in the garden and a hatchet in the garage with which to chop them and with which to defend myself against those pesky federal agents should they come for my taxes and my women…

It is going to be a long, long day here in the Medieval world……

Entry filed under: middleman. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Will the Real Housewives Please Step Forward….. Maslow Is Feeling Needy

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. sooocheshire  |  July 29, 2013 at 4:23 pm

    Not to infer you might be over-melodramising the situation somewhat, Middleman, but, erm, exactly how are you posting this…?

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Follow me on Twitter

My Tweets

Enter your email address to receive new posts.

Join 234 other followers

Blogs I Follow

Blog Stats

  • 683,911 hits

Flag Counter

Social


Travels 2016

Lesley Jennings

In and Around Shere

A beautiful area in the heart of the Surrey Hills

Talking in circles

Graduate, dog-lover and cake aficionado. Really.

21c Scotland

Scottish Blue Badge Guide

Libatio

These are the sometimes irreverent ramblings and observations of an English middle-aged man and middle manager.....

Public Value for Money

These are the sometimes irreverent ramblings and observations of an English middle-aged man and middle manager.....

Fit and Fabulous at 40 Plus

Rediscover yourself - food, inspiration & training programmes

Akinsankofa's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

expatnewby

My own, honest (ish) thoughts and fears of expat life.

