Australian Adventures Part Three

May 20, 2013 at 10:25 pm 2 comments

image

And so we are now into our second week Down Under and I think that everyone in our away party (two American ladies of a certain age and two British lads in their prime) is feeling a little jaded and quite a bit homesick.

We are, however, still managing to play nicely together and no punches have been thrown, or cutlery brandished………yet. Indeed, we all managed a thoroughly nice weekend together over a few pitchers of beer and a bucket of prawns at Darling Harbour on Saturday and an excursion by train into the beautiful Blue Mountains on Sunday.

But, we are all missing loved ones, pets, and home. As such, most of our conversations centre on our resentments towards our company travel and expense policies – although I have to admit that the American policy and the American administrators of that policy seem to be a lot more onerous than the Rest of World (as Americans tend to think of us) policy. So much so that I find myself almost feeling sorry for my American colleagues. Almost. Methinks we need a revolution. We might just form a Union while we’re down here…..

When not complaining about how the Company is (mis) treating us, we are all obsessing about contact with the real world and trying to maximise every opportunity, timezones allowing, to make a call home, to send a text, or to try to make a Skype connection.

Even contact with the virtual world has become more important. I for one find myself constantly looking for news on Facebook (my little sis is on her hen party in Ibiza which I’m hoping will provide invaluable material for my father-of-the-bride wedding speech!), or for comments on my blogs. It’s incredible how rewarding a simple comment or a “Like” or a 🙂 or a poke (ooh er missus) can be when you are on the other side of the world. I also seem to be spending an inordinate amount of my rare downtime writing restaurant reviews on Tripadvisor (the hotel reviews will have to wait until I have checked out for obvious reasons).

I am also spending a lot of time in my room watching movies downloaded from iTunes that I don’t really want to watch. But they are all I have access to, seeing as IPlayer, Netflix and Blinkbox don’t allow you access when outside of the UK. Bastards.

i have also progressed through several levels of Clash of Clans – how low have I fallen……

But, our merry bunch of travellers is bonding nicely and we are slowly learning more about each others little foibles. Or I am learning about theirs I should say, being foible-free myself ;). Expect more references to “women of a certain age” – they read my blog and got quite exercised by that comment to the point of palpitations and hot flushes, which kind of proved my point.

And my fellow Brit is slowly coming out of his shell. In between his constant trips to the bottle store we are entertained with tales of getting married in a pirate hat and how to snort ouzo……

A special call out to the partners of the two American ladies. We will look after them for you – we are keeping a special bail money pot to hand for whenever it might be needed. And a special thanks to E for organising our Sunday trip so well.

G’day mates.

Entry filed under: middleman. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Australian Adventures Part Two Australian Adventures Part Four

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. richardmonfries  |  May 21, 2013 at 2:48 am

    Hi Middle Man

    Getting out to the countryside – the Blue Mountains for instance – can be a spot on way of getting away from Sydney.
    Nice place to visit, never want to live there.
    If you want a complete contrast, head to Adelaide, a sleepy place, non-confronting, quaint, quiet. (I escaped after 34 years…)

    Orstralia’s a country of sameness – same trees, old geology, coastal fringe hugging urbanites – and cultural diversity (we’re more Migrant than local), on an island continent of vast differences.

    Perplexing place, I’d imagine, if you came from more civilised and older corners of the world.

    Hope you have a good time.

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. Middle Man  |  May 21, 2013 at 3:03 am

      Thanks Richard,

      I actually spent a month or so working in Adelaide back in 1998 – I absolutely loved the place, although I know that residents of other cities refer to it as a “village” rather than a city.

      I wouldn’t say that the “Old World” is more civilized (have you ever been to France? 😉 )……let’s just call it different.

      ps. I’d move to Oz tomorrow if I could.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to receive new posts.

Join 236 other followers

Blogs I Follow

Blog Stats

  • 692,634 hits

Flag Counter

Social


Travels 2016

Lesley Jennings

In and Around Shere

A beautiful area in the heart of the Surrey Hills

Talking in circles

Graduate, dog-lover and cake aficionado. Really.

21c Scotland

Scottish Blue Badge Guide

Libatio

These are the sometimes irreverent ramblings and observations of an English middle-aged man and middle manager.....

Public Value for Money

These are the sometimes irreverent ramblings and observations of an English middle-aged man and middle manager.....

Fit and Fabulous at 40 Plus

Rediscover yourself - food, inspiration & training programmes

Akinsankofa's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

expatnewby

My own, honest (ish) thoughts and fears of expat life.

