I AM NOT A CRIMINAL

September 11, 2012 at 9:22 am Leave a comment

English: Logo of Waitrose. Source: Waitrose Sm...

English: Logo of Waitrose. Source: Waitrose Small Producers’ Charter. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

To the checkout lady in Waitrose who just snapped at me “do you need bags?!” and subsequently, and with great theatre, threw said carrier bags in my direction – I am not a criminal. I am merely a man with groceries who requires a means by which to transport them from the trolley via my car to my kitchen. I am not an eco-terrorist. I am not solely responsible for global warming. I am not intent on killing the planet or condemning your grandchildren to a life as colonists on planet Mars.

So, less of the attitude, lady!

In any case, your bags are recyclable. And, I would be happy if you provided me with an ethical alternative, be it a recycled paper bag, a cardboard box, or a hemp sack. But it is either your plastic bag or my groceries rolling about in the boot of the car.

And, don’t even start with the Bag for Life thing – I could insulate my house with the number of Bags for Life that I have acquired over the years. Now there is an environmental disaster waiting to happen. And no, I cannot remember to bring them with me when I go shopping.

imageIf you want to have a go at anyone have a go at the people who insist on putting two blue rubber bands around your salad onions. Or, rebuke the manufacturers of electrical goods who insist on little plastic ties around every cable. And, the dry cleaners who return everything on plastic hangers – I have Bags for Life galore stuffed with yellow plastic coat hangers.

Rant over.

Entry filed under: middleman. Tags: , , , , .

What Ever Happened to the News? The Public. You Can’t Trust Them!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Follow me on Twitter

My Tweets

Enter your email address to receive new posts.

Join 238 other followers

Blogs I Follow

Blog Stats

  • 688,492 hits

Flag Counter

Social


Travels 2016

Lesley Jennings

In and Around Shere

A beautiful area in the heart of the Surrey Hills

Talking in circles

Graduate, dog-lover and cake aficionado. Really.

21c Scotland

Scottish Blue Badge Guide

Libatio

These are the sometimes irreverent ramblings and observations of an English middle-aged man and middle manager.....

Public Value for Money

These are the sometimes irreverent ramblings and observations of an English middle-aged man and middle manager.....

Fit and Fabulous at 40 Plus

Rediscover yourself - food, inspiration & training programmes

Akinsankofa's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

expatnewby

My own, honest (ish) thoughts and fears of expat life.

