Happy Birthday Me!

March 30, 2011 at 8:31 am 2 comments

Candles spell out the traditional English birt...

Image via Wikipedia

It is my birthday. I have reached the ripe old age of forty five. So far I have “celebrated” that fact by opening just one birthday card – from my lovely wife – before setting out to the station on a business day trip to London.

I am currently sat in a first class train carriage (screw the travel policy I say – see, I’m still a rebel at heart 😉 ), drinking Virgin tea (there must be a gag in there somewhere), while eating a sausage roll smothered in HP Sauce, while listening to Mumford and Sons on my iPhone (genius folk playlist) and contemplating my navel….

Such thoughtfulness so early in the morning was catalyzed by the coincidence of the anniversary of my birth and the fact that, while waiting for my train, I completed the 2011 Census.

Now those of you who know me will be aware of my like for history and respect for documented artifacts, but, has my life come down to this? Will History look back on me and be wowed by my academic pedigree, my job title, and whether I hold a passport or not? Wouldn’t it be more of a socially important record if I was able to declare that on Census Day (Sunday 27th March) we were staying with my baby sister-in-law in Vienna, or, what I ate for Dinner (pork medallions) or watched on TV (An Idiot Abroad – it was kind of apt).

But no, I refuse to be the Grumpy Old Man today. Sure my lifetime has seen many changes. Not least the fact that HP Sauce is no longer made in Birmingham. But surely the greatest of those changes have been in the realm of technology and communication. Today we have wi-fi, social networking, smartphones, text, Skype, email, etc, etc. So, shame on all of you who have forgotten my special day or are too busy to have dropped me a line……only joking. One of the other major changes is the fact that we are all (Jeremy Kyle unwashed aside) so very busy…..

But, I am, on the whole, quite happy with my lot. I have a wife I adore and a cat that thinks I am the best thing in the world (well, after food and mummy), great friends, good family, my health, a beautiful home and a good job. I have more than most and most of what I would wish for…..and most of which I wouldn’t change if I could.

But, I still can’t help but feel that somewhere deep inside this forty five year old frame there is an unfettered, free-spirited, seventeen year old screaming to get out…..

Oh well, better get on with some work now.

Happy birthday Middle Man!

Entry filed under: middleman. Tags: , , , , , .

Letter to The Queen’s Hypocrisy

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jennifer  |  March 30, 2011 at 8:46 am

    I can’t really sing, but here it goes…
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU!
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU!
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY, MIDDLE MAN!
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU!

    Choose Happiness & Success!
    Jennifer

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. Anonymous  |  March 30, 2011 at 5:48 pm

      Why Jennifer thank you so much. It sounded mighty fine to me x

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to receive new posts.

Join 236 other followers

Blogs I Follow

Blog Stats

  • 692,628 hits

Flag Counter

Social


Travels 2016

Lesley Jennings

In and Around Shere

A beautiful area in the heart of the Surrey Hills

Talking in circles

Graduate, dog-lover and cake aficionado. Really.

21c Scotland

Scottish Blue Badge Guide

Libatio

These are the sometimes irreverent ramblings and observations of an English middle-aged man and middle manager.....

Public Value for Money

These are the sometimes irreverent ramblings and observations of an English middle-aged man and middle manager.....

Fit and Fabulous at 40 Plus

Rediscover yourself - food, inspiration & training programmes

Akinsankofa's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

expatnewby

My own, honest (ish) thoughts and fears of expat life.

