It is Summer – Today!

August 19, 2009 at 9:13 am 1 comment

DJ Hols

 

According to the rather attractive Sky News weather girl, Lucy Versamy, it is going to reach the heady heights of 28 to 30 degrees Celsius in the UK today. Consequently I am sporting my shorts, t-shirts and flip flops (thongs for any Aussies that pop by) and my knotted hankie and deck chair are at the ready. And, I am waiting.

To be honest, I am not hopeful. It looks a tad overcast out there at the mo and I am trying to entice the cat to sit on my lap to keep my knees warm. And, we were promised a “barbecue summer” by the Met Office some time back. And, it never materialised. Indeed, a few weeks back I had to bolster our flood defences……it has been October/November throughout the months of July/August in this small corner of Cheshire.

My resident conspiracy theorist, C,  claims that the “barbecue summer” claim was put about by the government to encourage people to take holidays at home or in the UK to boost the economy. For once, she may have been right.

But surely it will backfire next year – one fortnight bailing out of a leaking tent or sitting in a British seaside cafe nursing a mug of tea and soaking in the vinegar will surely prompt a mass exodus of the great unwashed to Costa Del Karaoke next year………

Related Posts:

It Rains Up North

Entry filed under: humour, rant, travel. Tags: , , , , , , .

Hollywood Re-writes History Too Fat To……?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. SilverTiger  |  August 19, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    As long as it isn’t actually cold, I am happy. A weak spring sunshine is nice as it brightens the scene and gives it a happy expression but flaming sun and stifling heat I can do without.

    All this wobbling about in shorts and tee sheets showing off acres of red skin is not seemly. As for “flip-flops”, well, need I say more?

    The British constitution was designed for light summer flannels and a cricket pullover with an optional blazer in the cool of the evening.

    Meteorological standards have been been allowed to slide abominably to the point where even I have been forced to purchase light linen trousers for the more sultry conditions. Where will it all end? I shudder to think.

    Even now I am indoors – decorously dressed, of course – sheltering from what promise to be tiresomely warm conditions. Thank heavens for electric fans, say I.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 566,242 hits

Flag Counter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 57 other followers

Archives


Akinsankofa's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

expatnewby

My own, honest (ish) thoughts and fears of expat life.

Middle Man

These are the sometimes irreverent ramblings and observations of an English middle-aged man and middle manager.....

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

