Recycling Madness

April 21, 2009 at 11:41 am 7 comments

bins

A red sticker appeared on my grey household waste bin this week stating that I could no longer use my HOUSEHOLD WASTE bin for:

  • Paper
  • Cardboard
  • Plastics
  • Glass
  • Cans
  • Textiles

I already have a brown bin for my garden waste and compostable goods.

This begs the question – what on Earth can I use my grey household waste bin for?

My grey bin used to be collected once a week. It would often be full. I am sure that I will soon be advised that my grey bin will only be collected once a fortnight. And, frankly, this will make perfect sense for it will be empty. It will be empty for I am not allowed to put anything in it which might pass for the normal definition of  “household waste”.

My problem is that all other “bins” are collected only once a fortnight and that the single “bin” that I have for each variety – blue for bottles,  jars and cans; brown for garden waste; red for plastics; green for paper and cardboard – is insufficient for my demand.

I live in Cheshire for heaven’s sake, my two weekly consumption of wine means that the blue bin is overflowing even before I get to the empty tins of chopped tomatoes with basil and chick peas. It takes me two hours to cut the lawn so you can be sure that the brown bin is full. And, just a single Sunday Times complete with magazines and other inserts is sufficient to fill a green bag.

And, I resent the fact that I have to further damage the environment by washing everything out before inserting it into each of the multi-coloured bins (all of which clash terribly with the kitchen decor!) just in case the bin man was to get his hands dirty…….

But at least the cat is happy – he won’t have as far to go to get his fill of mice, rats, flies, wasps and other such vermin.

And, why do they make all of the recycling bins out of plastic? How on Earth will we dispose of them when they have worn out?

Seriously though, can someone tell me what I can put in my grey bin?

Related Posts:

Bag for Life

Entry filed under: Politics, rant. Tags: , , , , , .

Electric Cars Swine Flu

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. SilverTiger  |  April 21, 2009 at 12:47 pm

    What does it matter? As long as all your waste goes in one bin or another, your problem is solved. If there is nothing in your grey bin, that implies that all your waste is now being recycled and that, surely, is good.

    If your bin for glass is overflowing, that’s a different problem. It suggests the council underestimated the amount of glass to be recycled and needs to think again. In the meantime, maybe you have a tee-total neighbour who could take your overflow.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Robert Splaine  |  April 22, 2009 at 5:01 am

    Found your blog from the the Wythenshawe ex pats page.
    Have to say l have thoroughly enjoyed your rants, and wish l was
    literacy gifted as you are at being able to compose the blogs as you do.
    I have seen other comments on people saying stop moaning, l say why should you? It’s your Blog. lol
    I loved the plane journey, l also fly frequently and know what you are talking about, thankfully not had the trio colour of mash, and the
    cumin spuds.
    Added you to favorities.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Middle Man  |  April 22, 2009 at 7:31 am

    Dear Robert,

    Thanks you so much for your kind words and well done on surviving Shameless 😉

    As for those detractors you mention, have you noticed that they seem to be more moany and angry than I am…………?

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Middle Man  |  April 22, 2009 at 7:39 am

    Dear Silver Tiger,

    I mind because it makes absolutely no sense that recycling is handled in the manner that it is.

    Why is it more efficient to get an uninformed and largely unmotivated public (unless motivated by the risk of fines or withdrawal of service) to sift their own refuse and allocate it to one of FIVE different recepticles than to get the council do this at the point of delivery? And, in the meantime the public has to put up with FIVE smelly recepticles overflowing and representing a health risk.

    I mind because as ever I am asked to do more myself but at the same cost.

    I mind because it should be the hypermarkets that are incentivised to limit packaging and produce biodegradable materials.

    I mind because I already do recycle quite a lot while my neighbours do not.

    I mind because I often cannot fit things into my own bins becaiuse my neighbours have thrown some of their stuff in.

    That said, I do have a great deal more things that I mind an awful lot more about 😉

    Thanks for leaving a comment.

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Robert Splaine  |  April 22, 2009 at 7:43 am

    MM,
    Yes l have noticed that. Al l would say and do say to them, is put up a good a blog and be as funny as you are with yours or shut up lol. But to be honest l think they alike just like to moan.
    The lady who writes her own page and is an airline stewardess, says it all, very complimentary, and alike her Blog is excellent.
    Thank you for responding.
    Robert

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. infamousqbert  |  April 22, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    not sure if you see replies or not, but i replied to your comment on my blog. 🙂 thanks for stopping by!

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Lores  |  April 27, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    I suggest using your grey bin for soup.

    I’m always unsure of what to do with left over soup…
    …you can’t pour down the sink because of lumps…and you can’t put in bin bags because of leakage.

    The only other thing that I can think of that isn’t really covered by the list about would be poisons and other hazardous materials.

    Hope this has been of use

    🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Follow me on Twitter

My Tweets

Enter your email address to receive new posts.

Join 235 other followers

Blogs I Follow

Blog Stats

  • 686,477 hits

Flag Counter

Social


Travels 2016

Lesley Jennings

In and Around Shere

A beautiful area in the heart of the Surrey Hills

Talking in circles

Graduate, dog-lover and cake aficionado. Really.

21c Scotland

Scottish Blue Badge Guide

Libatio

These are the sometimes irreverent ramblings and observations of an English middle-aged man and middle manager.....

Public Value for Money

These are the sometimes irreverent ramblings and observations of an English middle-aged man and middle manager.....

Fit and Fabulous at 40 Plus

Rediscover yourself - food, inspiration & training programmes

Akinsankofa's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

expatnewby

My own, honest (ish) thoughts and fears of expat life.

