Big Brother House On The Prairie

January 22, 2009 at 4:29 pm 5 comments

Just two days ago, when commenting on Barack Obama’s inauguration speech, I admitted that it made me wish I was American.

Having watched last night’s version of the UK Celebrity Big Brother show on TV I have revised my opinion. Big Brother quite rightly, being such an historic event for the world, America, and clack Americans in particular,  allowed the housemates (including the three Americans) to watch the inauguration video. Normally, all news of current affairs and the outside world are denied to Big Brother contestants.

Coolio was clearly moved.

But, the reaction of La Toya Jackson and Verne Troyer was so indicative of the worst face of America – isolationist, arrogant, self-important, a skewed view of history, a lack of awareness, and a total lack of understanding of why the rest of the world does not see it as God’s nation and our great redeemer.

Here is a transcript with some of the most bizarre statements highlighted:

“LT: I think he (Obama) will try and do what he says, it will take time. Bush has our country in a mess, but I don’t like people talking about our country like that, I just think it’s totally disrespectful’ I noticed everything, and you know what I also noticed, it’s an inauguration for us, and everybody sat and looked at the tv that way, instead they should have said you are the Americans, you sit here. I think we should have been the one really looking up looking up and seen the tv.

Verne ??????? tv

I mean if that was somebody elses country I would have said, no take this seat, this is your President being sworn in, you have this seat. I’m not complaining but I just think it’s, I don’t know. It was so touching and so incredible.

Verne: The way he was talking about, it’s not just affecting America, it’s affecting the whole world.

LT: … and it is affecting the entire world Verne, America is so powerful, even though there are some in her that want to put America down. America is so powerful, we are the ones who support other people in war and things of that nature, and the reason that we are existing today

Verne: Even for other countries existing, if it wasn’t for us they wouldn’t exist.

LT: Of course, of course ….

Verne: Undermining our country I hate

LT: yeah, yeah, yeah.

Verne: Bcause we have done so many good things.

LT: absolutely

Verne: …. and yes in the past 4, 8 years ….

Lt: I think it is disrepectful, totally disrespecful, so I stay out of it don’t say anything.

Verne: I try too

LT: I think it’s a fool that argues constantly and consistently, my parents also told us, just listen don’t say anything to get your point across. Sometimes it’s difficult to get your point across.

Verne: … other people don’t really listen some time.

LT: No they don’t and that is what I mean.

While Verne might be short, La Toya is certainly short of a few brain cells. She is her brother’s sister for sure. I am glad she has gone no matter how easy on the eye she may have been.”

While we may share a language and a special relationship, I still maintain that America is one of the most foreign countries that I have visited.

Entry filed under: Celebrities, Politics, TV. Tags: , , , , , , .

The Stig Outed Celebrity Big Brother Fixed?

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. erik  |  January 22, 2009 at 4:53 pm

    There is a reason those Americans were available to participate in Big Brother. It is possible that the opinions expressed are not shared universally by the other three hundred million of us.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Middle Man  |  January 22, 2009 at 4:59 pm

    Erik,

    You don’t say. I would have thought that an ex-con rapper, a dwarf and the virgin queen would have been fairly representative 😉

    Fortunately, some of my work-colleagues on your side of the pond have restored my faith that there is such thing as a nice, normal, reasonable American. Mentioning no names though……..

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Wingnut  |  January 22, 2009 at 5:00 pm

    I couldn’t agree more. I was recently asked by my significant other whether I felt Britain was closer to the US or Europe. Having been to both I have not doubt we’re closer to Europeans in a lot of ways. I would probably feel the same about most of the ex-colonies. Let’s hope the new president, a man of the world introduces it to them!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. writechicpress  |  January 22, 2009 at 5:26 pm

    So, MM? Were you fit to slit your wrists after transcribing that tripe? Jesus! It was incoherent. I transcribed some Joe the Plumber Does Israel about a week ago and was ready to punch a kitten.

    I actually had to stop watching The Biggest Loser the other night. They had clips of the so massively obese contestants sniffing high-calorie food like pizza and donuts. Succumbing to temptation meant a short trip home with a personal trainer in attendance. Too cruel, too voyeuristic for me.

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Peter the Pedant  |  January 23, 2009 at 10:05 am

    I think the morals are simple …..

    1. Don’t watch crap TV.

    2. If cannot adhere to Rule 1and you do watch it then don’t assume people on it are the cultural yardstick for the land of their births

    The question of is GB culturally closer to Europe or the US is surely worthy of a debate in its own right ?

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Comments

Patricia Pover on The real Game of Thrones…
Middle Man on M6 – The Haunted Mo…
Anonymous on M6 – The Haunted Mo…
Patricia Pover on Wine gums, please…..
Patricia Pover on Home sweet home….

Archives

Follow me on Twitter

My Tweets

Enter your email address to receive new posts.

Join 235 other followers

Blogs I Follow

Blog Stats

  • 689,730 hits

Flag Counter

Social


Travels 2016

Lesley Jennings

In and Around Shere

A beautiful area in the heart of the Surrey Hills

Talking in circles

Graduate, dog-lover and cake aficionado. Really.

21c Scotland

Scottish Blue Badge Guide

Libatio

These are the sometimes irreverent ramblings and observations of an English middle-aged man and middle manager.....

Public Value for Money

These are the sometimes irreverent ramblings and observations of an English middle-aged man and middle manager.....

Fit and Fabulous at 40 Plus

Rediscover yourself - food, inspiration & training programmes

Akinsankofa's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

expatnewby

My own, honest (ish) thoughts and fears of expat life.

