Counting Down

January 18, 2014 at 2:17 am 1 comment

image

My world is literally falling apart. Well not quite. Not under the old definition of the word (literally) but definitely under the new one updated in the Oxford (the oldest, the best UK university) Dictionary.

Why? Because I am suffering major battery loss on my iPhone. I’m losing about 10% every half hour. My phone is dying. My connection with the outside world is dying. I am risking the loss of mobile connectivity. No email. No Facebook. No blogosphere. Is there anyone out there?

Things have got so bad that I have an appointment with Geek Central – the Sydney CBD Apple technical support team in about an hour and a half.

I expect to be humiliated and ridiculed by a spotty fourteen year old who will sneer at my old 4s (see, I can talk the techie stuff) and berate me for not putting my umbrella up when instructed to do so by the iCloud or something. But, I’ve seen Terminator and am wary of the iCloud….

I am constantly checking my battery percentage. It’s down to less than 20%. I feel like Desmond in Lost, watching the countdown and pressing that bloody button. And we all know how that ended.

Actually, we probably don’t all know how that ended. Many, like me, will have got severely frustrated by the lack of conclusion as each series came to an end, leaving viewers feeling frustrated and cheated in the same way as those who paid good money to see the Hobbit at the cinema. The jury is still out on Homeland as I haven’t quite finished series 3 but there must be a conclusion soon….

I digress. I have sought refuge in the only place I know which has a reliable, fast, free wi-fi. Fortunately it is a bar and I’m hoping my schooner of Fat Yak will take the edge off things as I anxiously attempt to back up the phone before my teenage Geek Terrorist wipes me from history.

Backup estimated time one hour. Walk to Apple Shop 15 minutes. Appointment now in 1 hour 15. It’s gonna be close. Have another beer. Battery percentage now at 10%.

My iPhone is my connection to the wider world. Especially while I am several thousands of miles and multiple time zones away from my nearest and dearest. I don’t know what I will do if

 

 

Entry filed under: Australia, business travel, Cautionary Tales, middleman, rant, technology. Tags: , , , , , .

Feeling Lonely Down Under Australian observations….

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Patricia Pover  |  January 19, 2014 at 3:52 pm

    I had to get the tissues out xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Follow me on Twitter

My Tweets

Enter your email address to receive new posts.

Join 68 other followers

Archives

Blogs I Follow

Blog Stats

  • 585,057 hits

Flag Counter


21c Scotland

Scottish Blue Badge Guide

Katyboo1's Weblog

The random jottings of a woman called Katy

Libatio

These are the sometimes irreverent ramblings and observations of an English middle-aged man and middle manager.....

These are the sometimes irreverent ramblings and observations of an English middle-aged man and middle manager.....

fit and fabulous at 40 plus

Being energetic, healthy, sporty and wealthy at 40+

Akinsankofa's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

expatnewby

My own, honest (ish) thoughts and fears of expat life.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

