I’m Coming Out!

February 10, 2013 at 10:50 am 3 comments

20130210-105325.jpg

OK I admit it. I have finally succumbed. You will now see me out and about sporting my man bag. A Barbour Mail Bag, as sported by males!

Now this is in no way gay. Not that there is anything wrong with being gay. It is just not the look I am going for – unlike my pilot (nuff said) brother-in-law with his Mulberry Messenger Bag, which is as camp as a camp thing could be. Nor is it in any way a handbag.

Nope. Mine is a purely practical, weather-proofed (waxed leather and canvas) means of carrying those things that a man needs to carry – wallet, keys, mobile phone, iPad, and reading glasses (middle age is a terrible thing). It is a rough and tumble, throw in the back of the car and happy to put down on the spit and sawdust flooring of a real ale pub bag…. Not a place in the middle of a circle to dance around, Mulberry!

So, no more will I be seen with bulging pockets (although in every other respect I am Beckhamesque in the trouser department) stuffed with all of the above, tissues, loose change, and ID passes. And, hopefully, my trousers will last longer as a result – the lining of the pockets tends to get holes in them as a result of a constant fumbling (for keys and change!).image

So, now for the battle of what constitutes allowable carry on luggage next time I’m flying off somewhere……

Entry filed under: middleman. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Throwing In The Towel Twilight Zone

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anonymous  |  February 10, 2013 at 11:50 am

    So so soooo Cheshire 😘 xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Expatnewby  |  February 10, 2013 at 11:52 am

    So so sooooo Cheshire 😘 xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Antony N Britt  |  February 10, 2013 at 12:10 pm

    Make sure you have a regular clear out. I have one similar and often wonder why I am carrying around gas bills from six months ago.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Follow me on Twitter

My Tweets

Enter your email address to receive new posts.

Join 77 other followers

Blogs I Follow

Blog Stats

  • 596,657 hits

Flag Counter


21c Scotland

Scottish Blue Badge Guide

Katyboo1's Weblog

The random jottings of a woman called Katy

Libatio

These are the sometimes irreverent ramblings and observations of an English middle-aged man and middle manager.....

These are the sometimes irreverent ramblings and observations of an English middle-aged man and middle manager.....

fit and fabulous at 40 plus

Being energetic, healthy, sporty and wealthy at 40+

Akinsankofa's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

expatnewby

My own, honest (ish) thoughts and fears of expat life.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

