The Joy of Middle Age

January 13, 2012 at 11:34 am 1 comment

English: Reading glasses. ‪中文(繁體)‬: 老花眼鏡

Image via Wikipedia

I know that 40 is the new 30 but……..

Tomorrow I have the joy of visiting an opticians to select the frames for my new glasses. To be fair, this will be my first ever pair of spectacles. To date I have had perfect 20:20 vision and have survived without the need for glasses or contact lenses. But no more! The arrival of my forty-fifth year has coincided with an increase in my use of laptop, iPad and iPhone and I have been diagnosed as suffering from “near use fatigue” which, I guess, is newspeak for “you need reading glasses”.

Now, I know I should count myself lucky that I have got this far without the need for glasses. And, I know that my better half will select a REALLY EXPENSIVE and nice pair of designer frames which will (hopefully) magically make me look both more intelligent and handsome at the same time, as if that were possible……..But, I cannot help but take it as further evidence of middle age and bodily deterioration. I’m not happy……………..

So, my eyesight is deteriorating. I am already virtually deaf (and often selectively so) in one ear. I have a dodgy knee which prevents otherwise startling displays of physical prowess. I have been a “silver fox” for a number of years now and I am losing an ever more difficult battle against the thick, curly grey hairs attempting to take over my eyebrows. And as for nasal hair and ear hair, well, let’s just not go there. And, my moobs are, unfortunately, more Katy Price than Peter Andre.

But, somewhere inside there is still a virile, enthusiastic, fit twenty something struggling to get out…….

Entry filed under: middleman. Tags: , , , , , , .

What A Day! Grrrr…. Apple TV Sucks……..

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sam Times  |  February 10, 2012 at 2:10 pm

    You know what they say… nothing stays the same forever. The fact that you’ve survived all those years without wearing eyeglasses is really amazing. But the greatest part of this is that you’ll experience what it feels like to wear those everyday.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Follow me on Twitter

My Tweets

Enter your email address to receive new posts.

Join 199 other followers

Blogs I Follow

Blog Stats

  • 602,753 hits

Flag Counter


21c Scotland

Scottish Blue Badge Guide

Katyboo1's Weblog

The random jottings of a woman called Katy

These are the sometimes irreverent ramblings and observations of an English middle-aged man and middle manager.....

These are the sometimes irreverent ramblings and observations of an English middle-aged man and middle manager.....

fit and fabulous at 40 plus

Being energetic, healthy, sporty and wealthy at 40+

Akinsankofa's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

expatnewby

My own, honest (ish) thoughts and fears of expat life.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 199 other followers

