Those Pesky Mices!

September 29, 2011 at 4:22 pm 2 comments

I am not happy. I seem to have a nest of mice living under the bonnet of the Audi Q5…….

I noticed a while ago that something seems to have been nibbling on the rubber padding around the engine. More recently, I noticed that the little buggers have been shredding the insulation and padding. I am not sure whether they have been taking the material to line their nests elsewhere or are actually nesting in the warm, dark seclusion of my sleek piece of German engineering.

It has made me a bit paranoid. I wonder whether the rodents will eat through anything vital that will force me to lose control during an overtaking manoeuvre on the motorway or such like.

I have actually put poison down under the hood but I am not sure if it will do any good. I imagine that I am leaving a steady spray of rat poison behind me every time I go over thirty miles an hour.

Does anyone have any ideas of how to get rid of the little buggers?

Entry filed under: middleman. Tags: , , , , , .

The Life of an Ordinary/Extraordinary Man Like a Virgin

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dannyllama  |  October 10, 2011 at 3:06 pm

    I can sympathize with you on two counts there. Living out in the sticks is beautiful, and it’s amazing looking out over the fields. Unfortunately, it brings with it a host of unwanted creatures. Several infestations of mices later..my technique has been honed.

    A trap baited with chocolate is extremely effective. At the risk of upsetting the animal huggers…don’t use a humane one. You are just moving the problem ! Try placing it close to your car in a dark spot.

    incidentally, I have been informed by my mechanic that a mouse has been enjoying the warmth of my motorcycle airbox. So much so that it has eaten most of the air filter.

    Revenge was mine however, as it was found moribund in the box.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Alex Redston  |  October 24, 2011 at 8:39 am

    I had a similar situation – my Saab 900’s heat shield had been eaten and there were door mice nesting in it! They had also put hundreds of damson stones (each with a neat hole cut into it) all over the engine bay, battery etc. Luckilly they had not gone into the airbox and eaten the K&N filter.

    These door mices are an endangered species too! I still haven’t bought a new heatshield.

    The irony is I used to run a company called MIces – hence why I stumbled across this thread.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Follow me on Twitter

My Tweets

Enter your email address to receive new posts.

Join 199 other followers

Blogs I Follow

Blog Stats

  • 602,074 hits

Flag Counter


21c Scotland

Scottish Blue Badge Guide

Katyboo1's Weblog

The random jottings of a woman called Katy

These are the sometimes irreverent ramblings and observations of an English middle-aged man and middle manager.....

These are the sometimes irreverent ramblings and observations of an English middle-aged man and middle manager.....

fit and fabulous at 40 plus

Being energetic, healthy, sporty and wealthy at 40+

Akinsankofa's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

expatnewby

My own, honest (ish) thoughts and fears of expat life.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 199 other followers

